3 Days - 3x the Smiles

Donate online December 13-15 & your gift is tripled!

 

SO Colleges

Are you a fan of dignity? Of acceptance? Of the humanity of all people, regardless of ability or disability? If so, it is time you joined our network of college and university students supporting Special Olympics Southern California.

SO Colleges functions as an official club on campus and connects college students and individuals with intellectual disabilities through sport to build friendships and help lead the social justice movement of Special Olympics. Created by college students for college students, the network seeks the membership of campuses that seek the common goals of enhancing the lives of people with intellectual disabilities and building a more accepting world for all.

Get Involved

WHAT YOU CAN DO


Provide support via sports training & competition venues

Volunteer with one of our diverse programs

Participate in Unified Sports partnerships

LEARN MORE


Learn more about how you can get involved by reviewing our Sports Partnership brochure.

LEARN MORE

CONTACT US


Contact Bill Fields at 562.502.1111 or bfields@sosc.org with any questions and/or to get your college and/or university started with SO Colleges!

CONTACT US

Participating Colleges & Universities

Allan Hancock College

Allan Hancock College

Campus Engagements

TBA

Contact

Kim Ensing, Associate Dean/Athletic Director: Kinesiology, Recreation, & Athletics
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(805) 922-6966, ex. 3359
kensing@hancockcollege.edu

Azusa Pacific

Azusa Pacific University

Campus Engagements

  • Plays Host to the LASGV Spring Basketball
  • Volunteer engagements
  • SAAC Clinics
  • Looking to have SAAC host an athlete
  • training

Contacts

Gary Pine, Director of Athletics
Student Athlete Advisory Panel
(626) 815-5081
gpine@apu.edu
Cindy Tanis, Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology, Program Director, Graduate Physical Education
(626) 815-6000, Ext. 5230
ctanis@apu.edu

Biola

Biola University

Campus Engagements

  • Fans in the Stands at Orange Co. Regional Games
  • Sport Volunteers for SOSC Fall Games 2017, Summer Games 2018
  • Sports Clinics
  • Athlete training

Contacts

Amy Jungkeit, Assistant Athletic Director for Compliance
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(562) 777-4014
amy.jungkeit@biola.edu

Cal Lutheran

Cal Lutheran University

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Kevin Judd, Assistant Women’s Volleyball Coach/SAAC Advisor
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(805) 493-3299
krjudd@callutheran.edu

CBU

California Baptist University

Campus Engagements

  • Volunteer Fans in the Stands
  • Fall Games Facility Host

Contacts

Rachel Keys, Athletic Academic Counselor/Senior Woman Administrator
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(951) 343-4321
rkeys@calbaptist.edu

Tyler Cox, Director, Recreation Programs
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(951) 343-4425
tcox@calbaptist.edu

CalTech

California Institute of Technology

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Mark Becker, Assistant Athletics Director, Intercollegiate Operations
Student Athlete Advisory Council/National Intramural Recreational Sports Association Advisor
(626) 395-3262
mbecker@caltech.edu

Claremont

Claremont Colleges

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Terrance Tumey, Director of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation
(909) 607-3138
Terrance.tumey@cms.claremont.edu

Bakersfield

CSU Bakersfield

Campus Engagements

  • SO Kern Facility usage
  • Unified Wellness and Intramural League Play
  • SO Kern Programing
  • NIRSA
  • Regional Games Volunteers
  • Campus Community Day
  • SOSC Floor Hockey Championship 2019 support
  • Volunteers officials

Contacts

Ziggy Siegfried, Director of Athletics, Athletics Director
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(661) 654-2188
ksiegfried@csub.edu

Kareem Bland, Coordinator of Competitive Sports
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(661) 654-2729
kbland@csub.edu

Mary O’Mahoney, Director of Student Rec Center
(661) 654-2635
momahoney@csub.edu

David Charleston, Grad Student Special Olympics, Kern
dcharleston@csub.edu

Channel Islands

CSU Channel Islands

Campus Engagements

  • Fans in the Stands SO Ventura

Contacts

Nathan Avery, Asst Director of Campus Recreation – Rec Sports
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(805) 437-3266
Nathan.avery@csuci.edu

Michael Gravagne, Director of Campus Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(805) 437-3711
Michael.gravagne@csuci.edu

Fullerton

CSU Fullerton

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Aaron Tapper, Director of Titan Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(657) 278-4214
atapper@fullerton.edu

Toni Rogers, Assistant Athletic Director, Compliance/Interim SWA
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(657) 278-5339
torogers@fullerton.edu

FLong Beach

CSU Long Beach

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach MT
    • Unified League Play
    • Unified Wellness
  • SAAC
  • Facility Host SOSC Summer Games
  • Team So Cal Training Camp
  • Sports Management Program Intern Recruitment

Contacts

Farron Fowler, Associate Director, Student Rec and Wellness Center
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(562) 985-8101
farron.fowler@csulb.edu

Travis Benson, Club Sports and Recreation Coordinator
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(562) 985-2216
Travis.benson@csulb.edu

Rita Hayes, Director of Club Sports and Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(562) 985-7651
Rita.hayes@csulb.edu

Stephanie Baugh, Life Skills Coordinator
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(657) 985-8542
Stephanie.baugh@csulb.edu

Northridge

CSU Northridge

Campus Engagements

  • Santa Clarita Request: Volunteers, Facility
  • NIRSA Outreach

Contacts

Devin Barnett, Intramurals Coordinator
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(818) 677-5305
Devin.barnett@csun.edu

Sandra Salute, Asst Director, Fitness and Wellness
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(818) 677-5381
Sandra.salute@csun.edu

Jimmy Francis, Director of Student Recreation Center
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(818) 677-2629
Jimmy.francis@csun.edu

Dr. Brandon Martin, Director of Athletics
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(818) 677-5081
Brandon.martin@csun.edu

Pomona

Cal Poly Pomona

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Kaycee Tanioka, Intramural Sports and Sport Clubs Coordinator
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
kktanioka@cpp.edu

Shelbi Long, Associate Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(909) 869-2128
srlong@cpp.edu

Krista Smith, Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(909) 869-2317
kristasmith@cpp.edu

Jennifer Heimstead, Assistant Athletics Director, Compliance and Internal Relations
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(909) 869-4913
jeheaimstead@cpp.edu

San Bernardino

CSU San Bernardino

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach

Contacts

Lynn Nester, Director of Recreation and Wellness
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(909) 537-7142
Lynn.nester@csusb.edu

Meghan McGarry, Academic Advisor
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(909) 537-5811
Meghan.mcgarry@csusb.edu

SLO

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Campus Engagements

  • SO SLO MATP
  • Fall Games
  • Student Volunteers

Contacts

Katherine (Kat) Suderman, Athletics Compliance Coordinator
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(805) 756-2900
kdsuderm@calpoly.edu

San Bernardino

Loma Linda University

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach

Contacts

Edwin Jones, Manager of Intramurals and Recreation
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(909) 558-4975
eljones@llu.edu

LMU

Loyola Marymount University

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach
  • Campus Club LPC Student Body

Contacts

Raamen Bass, Intramural Sports Director
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(310) 338-4432
lmuimsports@lmu.edu

Matt Casana, Assistant Athletics Director for Student-Athlete Services
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(310) 338-1736
Matthew.casana@lmu.edu

Occidental

Occidental College

Campus Engagements

  • SOSC Activations
  • SAAC
  • Athlete sports clinics
  • Campus Club
  • Volunteer Engagements

Contacts

Jonathan Padron, Club Sports Supervisor
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(323) 259-2802
clubsports@oxy.edu

Allofs Lima, Assistant Coach/SAAC Advisor
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(323) 341-4682
alima@oxy.edu

Occidental

Orange Coast College

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Jason Kehler, Director of Athletics
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(714) 432-5770
jkehler@occ.cccd.edu

San Diego

San Diego State University

Campus Engagements

SAAC

  • Sports Clinic
  • Athlete Sports Training
  • Sports Demo Games
  • Games Volunteers

NIRSA

  • Unified League Play
  • Unified Wellness
  • SOSD Games Volunteers
  • Sports Official Volunteers

Contacts

Parker Anderson, Competitive Sports Supervisor
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
Parker.anderson@sdsu.edu

DeJuan Benford, Competitive Sports Manager
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(615) 594-4280
dbenford@mail.sdsu.edu

Bre White, Assistant Director and Academic Advisor
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(619) 594-4126
swhite@mail.sdsu.edu

UC Irvine

UC Irvine

Campus Engagements

  • NISRA outreach
  • Intermural League Play
  • Volunteer Sports Officials
  • Regional Games Volunteers

Contacts

Courtney Burkes, Director of Fitness & Wellness
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(949) 824-6497
cburkes@uci.edu

Andy Christopher, Director, Intramural Sports
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(949) 824-6935
Andrew.christopher@uci.edu

Adrienne Buckingham, Director of Anteater Club Sports
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(949) 824-5774
A.buckingham@uci.edu

Greg Rothberg, Interim Campus Recreation Director
National Intramural Recreational Sports Association
(949) 824-8502
garothbe@uci.edu

Dedra Butler, Assistant Athletic Director – Academic & Student Affairs
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(949) 824-3829
dmbutler@uci.edu

UCLA

UCLA

Campus Engagements

  • Host site - 2018 Unified Inclusive Leadership Summit
  • Campus Club engagements
  • Play Unified Basketball League
  • JWA Appearance four teams, 2017, 2018
  • Volunteer Engagements
  • SOSC Games Volunteers
  • Flag Football League Play
  • Summer Games Volunteers

Contacts

Brian Smith, Program Director, Competitive Sports
(310) 206-8338
brsmith@recreation.ucla.edu

Kristienne Edrosolan, President of UCLA Special Olympics Chapter
kedrosolan@ucla.edu

Ja’Nae Davis, Associate Athletic Director, Academic & Student Services
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(310) 825-8699
jndavis@athletics.ucla.edu

UC Riverside

UC Riverside

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach
  • League Play
  • Facility usage
  • Unified Wellness
  • Regional Games Volunteers

Contacts

Evan Richardson, Coordinator-Intramural Sports Program
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(951) 827-5738
Richardson.evan@ucr.edu

Kevin Martin, Assistant Director – Competitive Sports program
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(951) 827-5738
Kevin.martin@ucr.edu

Matt Dunigan, Coordinator – Competitive Sports
Matthew.dunigan@ucr.edu

Arvin Varma, Associate Director – Programs
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(951) 827-5738
Arvin.varma@ucr.edu

Lindy Fenex, Director – UCR Recreation
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(951) 827-5738
Lindy.fenex@ucr.edu

Dio Saucedo, Student-Athlete Leadership Coordinator
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(951) 827-5431
Dio.saucedo@ucr.edu

Michelle Almazan, Director, Student-Athlete Academic Services
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(951) 827-3253
Michelle.almazan@ucr.edu

UCSD

UC San Diego

Campus Engagements

  • Sports Clinics
  • Athlete Trainings
  • Volunteer Engagements
  • Sports Officials
  • League Play - Flag Football and Basketball

Contacts

Allison Lane, Intramural Sports Director
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(858) 534-4037
allane@ucsd.edu

Matt Adams, Interim Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(858) 534-4037
madams@ucsd.edu

Katie McGann, Associate Athletics Director – Compliance/Student Services
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(858) 534-8700
kmcgann@ucsd.edu

UCSB

UC Santa Barbara

Campus Engagements

  • SO Santa Barbara Regional Basketball Host

Contacts

Gabe Escobedo, Intramural Sports Coordinator
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(805) 893-3908
Gabe.escobedo@recreation.ucsb.edu

Jeff Huskey, Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(805) 893-2181
Jeff.huskey@recreation.ucsb.edu

Kelly Barsky, Deputy Athletics Director/Senior Women’s Administrator
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(805) 893-2247
Kelly.barksy@athletics.ucsb.edu

Laverne

University of Laverne

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Angelina Arreola, Coordinator of Event Management and Intramural Sports/SAAC Advisor
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(909) 448-4347
aarreola@laverne.edu

Redlands

University of Redlands

Campus Engagements

  • TBD

Contacts

Chris Barnes, Resident Director – Anderson Hall
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(909) 793-2121 x4803
Chris_barnes@redlands.edu

Patrick Whalen, Assistant Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(909) 793-2121 x4803
Patrick_whalen@redlands.edu

Andrew Hollis, Director of Recreation
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(909) 748-8098
Andrew_hollis@redlands.edu

University of SD

University of San Diego

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Outreach

Contacts

Jeffrey Cirillo, Competitive Sports Manager
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
jcirillo@sandiego.edu

Serena Gandara, Assistant Director, Recreation Programs
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(619) 260-7751
serenaboyd@sandiego.edu

Greg Zackowski, Senior Assistant Director, Recreation Facilities and Sport Clubs
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
(619) 260-8849
gregoryz@SanDiego.edu

Ron Valenzuela, Assistant Director of Athletics for Academics and Student Development
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(619) 260-2916
ronaldv@sandiego.edu

USC

USC

Campus Engagements

  • NIRSA Programing Plan Play Unified
  • Volunteer Endearments
  • Campus Club LPC
  • Athletics Dept. Outreach, McCall Hall, AD Outreach
  • USC Sports Demo, Sport invites

Contacts

Jason Moran, Coordinator for Intramurals and Club Sports
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
moranjas@usc.edu

Justine Gilman, Senior Director – Recreational Sports & Facilities
National Intramural Recreation Sports Association
jgilman@usc.edu

Dr. Denise Kwok, Assistant Athletic Director/Director of Student-Athlete Academic Services
Student Athlete Advisory Council
(213) 821-3075
dkowk@usc.edu

What Are Unified Sports Intramurals?